You are here

Arrupe Series


Saint Peter’s Prep, the state’s only Jesuit high school, sponsors an annual, week-long summit exploring a particular social justice issue through the lens of Catholic Social Teaching.  This year, the Arrupe Series will focus on the topic of A Preferential Option for the Poor in Central America.  Arrupe Week 2016 will raise awareness of US policies in Central America and realities facing families in the region by examining the root causes of war and violence through historical, political, and economic lenses.  We hope to inspire compassion and challenge the Prep community to make a preferential option for the poor.  The summit will take place from March 14-18, 2016.

The Arrupe Series is named for Pedro Arrupe, S.J., the late superior general of the Jesuits.  Arrupe charged the religious order with its modern mission of forming "men and women for and with others."  The summit includes a community mass, a keynote address, guest speakers, curricular activities, field trips, and other opportunities to engage more deeply with the theme of Central America.
“Our Catholic, Jesuit faith challenges us to reflect on matters of injustice in our world and the response required from us as Catholics,” said Maura Toomb, Prep’s Director of Campus Ministry. “The goal of the Arrupe Series is to bring a specific issue of injustice to the forefront and encourage our community to engage it and to act.”
Now in its 19th year, the Pedro Arrupe, S.J., Lecture Series has hosted, among others, noted peace activist Dan Berrigan, S.J.; author Bernard Lefkowitz; death penalty activist Sr. Helen Prejean, CSJ; Fr. Roy Bourgiose, founder of the School of America's Watch; Marc Morial, former mayor of New Orleans and president of the National Urban League; Greg Boyle, S.J., of the successful anti-gang initiative Homeboy Industries; Sean Carroll, S.J. of the Kino Border Initiative; Mr. Jim Keady of Team Sweat; Fr. Joseph Carver, S.J., of the Oregon Province; Fr. Jeff Putthoff, S.J., of Hopeworks 'N Camden; and Dr. Michael Kimmel, sociologist and author of Guyland.