You are here

Science

The science curriculum at Prep is designed to allow students to interact with science as a discipline and to experience empirical inquiry as a method of investigation. Science courses focus on the scientific process, enabling students to discover and interpret scientific knowledge, develop positive attitudes and interests about science, and recognize that what they learn can be applied to decisions they will make in a world influenced by science and technology.  To prepare students for this world, Prep has adopted the inquiry method of teaching science. This method fosters an environment of hands-on learning that invites students to explain what is being observed in a scientific manner. The science department believes in a practical approach to science education and works to have students appreciate science as a skill. 

Prep requires two years of laboratory science as a minimum graduation requirement: (1) life science and (1) physical science. The science department strongly recommends at least three years of laboratory science, namely physics, chemistry, and biology.  Many colleges require three or more lab sciences, or particular lab sciences. Each student is encouraged to consult with his science teachers, his guidance counselor, and the college placement office to determine his best course of study in the sciences.  Please note that departmental approval is separate from meeting a letter grade requirement; no student will be accepted into an honors or AP level science course without approval of the department.

Note that a student does not have to progress to higher tiers and may take any courses in the tier for which he meets the requirements. Below are the titles of the courses and their life or physical science designation. 

Life Sciences Physical Sciences
Biology
Biology Honors
AP Biology
AP Environmental Science
Forensic Science
Anatomy & Physiology
Advanced Biology II
Physical Science
Chemistry
Chemistry Honors
Advanced Chemistry II
AP Chemistry
Physics I
Physics I Honors
AP Physics I

 

Click here to access the layout for our course of studies as well as potential course progressions.

TEACHER EMAIL ADDRESS PHONE
Mr. Thomas Comey* ComeyT@spprep.org 201-547-2312
Ms. Lisa Bui BuiL@spprep.org 201-547-2353
Mr. Alex Canale, '05 CanaleA@spprep.org 201-547-6439
Ms. Catherine Eppler EpplerC@spprep.org  201-547-6475
Dr. Michael Holt, '99 HoltM@spprep.org 201-547-2317
Ms. Jan Merski MerskiJ@spprep.org 201-547-2325
Mr. Kenneth Pamiloza PamilozaK@spprep.org 201-547-6488
Mr. Nathan Riley RileyN@spprep.org 201-547-2318
Mrs. Siobhan Rios RiosS@spprep.org 201-547-2352
Ms. Carmela Schlitzer SchlitzerC@spprep.org 201-547-2377
Mr. Ken Trotta TrottaK@spprep.org 201-547-2351

* indicates department chairperson